Thoughts about “The Thing about Autism”

Partial Repost from http://seventhvoice.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/the-thing-about-autism/

Originally posted by Kyra Anderson 5.0 http://kyraanderson.wordpress.com/

 

The Thing about Autism – Exert

“You find yourself at the center of a huge debate. You’re the new black, the hot topic, part of a growing epidemic, an oft-cited statistic that grows at alarming rates or not at all, depending on who is doing the reporting. You’re living the thing most families fear. You’re the brave one, the resilient one, the courageous one, the one doing something she or he (but mostly she) says she can’t imagine herself doing, performing some super feat of parenting, loving with super patience or super understanding or super tolerance while she races home to a child that skips up the path of maturation and competence and independence and connection with nary a nudge from anyone.”

 

My comment to your post 🙂

Kyra 5.0, your words are a beautiful homage to parenting a child on the autism spectrum or having other special needs.

I re-read your post several times and had a little difficulty processing it. At first I thought how bold to brag on one’s self… Truth of the matter, parents need to be able to toot their own horns sometimes.

I work diligently with my son, but only see it as a labor of love. I don’t think of myself as a hero or supermom or feel that I am particularly brave or resilient. I am who I am and I do what I do because I love who I love with all that I have. And that’s it.

There are many of us who go through life not giving any thought to what we do everyday. It takes wonderful people like you, who bring us back to the level and make us feel like we are doing something right. Thank you for writing such a beautiful tribute to all of us who spend our days and night loving and raising our precious autist/aspie kids.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Thoughts about “The Thing about Autism””

  1. seventhvoice says :

    Indeed… and so beautifully put both by Kyra and yourself 🙂

Penny for your thoughts...

Vegan Canteen

Home cooked vegan meals and catering

The Art of Autism

Connecting through the arts

love explosions

when the love for your child overwhelms you

Who Am I To Stop It

A documentary film on isolation, art, and transformation after brain injury

RUNNING FROM EL DIABLO

Domestic Violence KILLS!

Angelart Star

The beautiful picture of angels makes you happy.

Julia Richter

3D & 2D Artist - Illustrator

Karen Willis (My Journey and Life with Autism)

My blog's about my life experiences with Asperger's Syndrome and going into the world of autism in my point of view. Looking to inspire others and help others to understand autism better along with giving other families of kids and adults with autism hope.

Just Contemplations

Contemplations expressed through the written word...

Brown Mamas

The Premier Site for Black Moms in Pittsburgh

A2ndvoice

Bridging the gap for Families with Autistic Children and Autistic Adults

50 Shades of me

DARK BLUE

Slate Agency

Talent Search

Belly of a Star

my practice of compassion

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Alienhippy's Blog

"A place where I can be me!"

Everyday Asperger's

Life through the eyes of a female with Aspergers

Seventh Voice

Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

girlsonthespectrumdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Thirty Days of Autism

30 Days of Autism is a project designed to promote social understanding, civil rights, fight stigma, and increase understanding and acceptance for those who process and experience the world differently.

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

